Field Research Directors – Food Program

North Central Region

Scott Chapman
University of Wisconsin
Department of Entomology
537 Russell Laboratories
1630 Linden Drive
Madison, WI, 53706
Phone: 608-262-9914
Fax: 608-575-6469
scott.chapman@wisc.edu

Sharon Clay
South Dakota State University
Plant Sciences Department
Room 247 – McFadden Biostress Lab
Box 2207a
Brookings, SD, 57007
Phone: 605-688-4757
Fax: 605-688-4452
sharon.clay@sdstate.edu

Norman Cloud
Kemin Industries Inc – Research Agronomist, Specialty Crops
2100 Maury Street
Des Moines, IA, 50317
Phone: 515-559-5477
Fax: 515-559-5208
Cell: 515-520-0689
norman.cloud@kemin.com

Douglas J. Doohan
The Ohio State University
Ohio Agriculture Research and Development Center
Department of Horticulture and Crop Science
1680 Madison Avenue
Wooster, OH, 44691
Phone: 330-202-3593
Fax: 330-263-3887
doohan.1@osu.edu

Mary K. Hausbeck
Michigan State University
Department of Plant, Soil & Microbial Sciences; Plant Biology Lab
612 Wilson Rd., Room 140 Plant Biology Lab
East Lansing, MI, 48824-1311
Phone: 419-530-1599
hausbec1@msu.edu

Daniel J. Heider
University of Wisconsin IPM Program
1575 Linden Drive
Madison, WI, 53706
Phone: 608-262-6491
Fax: 608-262-4743
djheider@wisc.edu

Graig Reicks
South Dakota State University Department of Agronomy, Horticulture, and Plant Science
Raven Precision Ag Center, Room 107
Box 2100A
Brookings, SD, 57007
Phone: 605-695-1818
graig.reicks@sdstate.edu

Allison Robinson
The Ohio State University
Horticulture and Crop Science/Weed Lab
104 Gourley Hall
1680 Madison Ave
Wooster, OH, 44691
Phone: 330-641-8147
robinson.2734@osu.edu

Celeste Wheeler
Trevor Nichols Research Center
6237 124th Ave.
Fennville, MI, 49408
Phone: 269-561-5040
Fax: 269-561-5314
wheel243@msu.edu

Bernard Zandstra
Michigan State University
Dept. of Horticulture
1066 Bogue St., Rm. A440; Plant & Soil Sciences Bldg.
East Lansing, MI, 48824-1325
Phone: 517-353-6637
Fax: 517-432-2242
zandstra@msu.edu

Northeast Region

Judith Collins
University of Maine
307 Deering Hall
Orono, ME 04469
Phone: 207-581-2868
judith.collins@umit.maine.edu

Jennifer Fisher
Rutgers Snyder R&E Farm
140 Locust Grove Road
Pittstown, NJ, 08867
Phone: 908-730-9419 x 210
Fax: 908-735-8290
jlf229@njaes.rutgers.edu

Megan James
University of Maryland
Lower Eastern Shore Research and Education Center
27664 Nanticoke Road
Salisbury, Maryland 21801
Phone: 410-742-8788 Ext.317
mjames14@umd.edu

Grant Jordan
A.C.D.S Research, Inc.
9813 Glenmark Road
North Rose, NY 14516
Phone: 315-587-2140
gljordan@acdsresearch.com

Scott Palmer
Reality Research
4729 Preemption Road
Lyons, NY, 14489
Phone: 315-945-1934
scottpalmer@localnet.com

Marylee Ross
University of Maryland
Lower Eastern Shore Research and Education Center
27664 Nanticoke Rd.
Salisbury, MD, 21801
Phone: 410-742-8788 ext. 310
Fax: 410-742-1922
mross@umd.edu

Martha Sylvia
University of Massachusetts
Cranberry Station Facility
One State Bog Road
East Wareham, MA 02538
Phone: 508-265-6921
martys@umass.edu

Leela Uppala
University of Massachusetts
Cranberry Station Facility
One State Bog Road
East Wareham, MA 02538
Phone: 508-295-2212 X18
suppala@umass.edu

Southern Region

Michael Long
University of Florida
Plant Science Research and Education Unit
2556 West Hwy 318
Citra, FL, 32113-2132
Phone: 352-591-2678 ext. 243
michaeljlong@ufl.edu

Wilfredo Robles-Vazquez
University of Puerto Rico
Agricultural Experiment Station
HC-5 Box 10322
Corozal, PR, 00783-9521
Phone: 787-859-0012 x 3075
wilfredo.robles2@upr.edu

Cole Smith
NC State University
4201 Inwood Road
Raleigh, N.C. 27603
Phone: 919-515-1193
scsmith7@ncsu.edu

Rebecca Tannenbaum
University of Florida
Tropical Research and Education Center
18905 SW 280 Street
Homestead, FL, 33031-3314
Phone: 786-217-9273
Fax: 305-246-7003
Cell: 305-345-2458
radar78@ufl.edu

Darrell Thomas
University of Florida
Science Research and Education Unit
2556 West Hwy 318
Citra, FL, 32113-2132
Phone: 352-591-2678
thomasda@ufl.edu

Western Region

Julie Coughlin
University of Hawaii at Manoa
College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources
Plant and Environmental Protection Sciences
3190 Maile Way, St. John Rm. 307
Honolulu, HI, 96822
Phone: 808-956-2003
Fax: 808-956-9675
jcoughli@hawaii.edu

David Ennes
University of California
Kearney Agricultural Research and Extension Center (KARE)
9240 S. Riverbend Ave.
Parlier, CA, 93648
Phone: 559-646-6061
Fax: 559-646-6015
djennes@ucanr.edu

James Kam
University of Hawaii at Manoa
Plant & Environmental Protection Sciences
3050 Maile Way, St. John Rm. 307
Honolulu, HI, 96822
Phone: 808-956-7460
Fax: 808-956-9675
Cell: 808-228-1675
jkam@hawaii.edu

Guy Kyser
University of California, Davis
IR-4 Field Research Center
Plant Sciences 276 Robbins Hall
Davis, CA, 95616
Phone: 530-867-2344
Fax: 530-752-4604
gbkyser@ucdavis.edu

Nathan Leach
UC Riverside – Ag Operations
University of California, Riverside
1060 Martin Luther King Blvd.
Riverside, CA, 92507
Phone: 814-769-9788
Cell: 951-312-2834
nathan.leach@ucr.edu

Dani Lightle
Oregon State University
North Willamette Research and Extension Center
15210 NE Miley Road
Aurora, OR 97002
Phone: 503-694-9790
danielle.lightle@oregonstate.edu

Will Meeks
University of Idaho
Twin Falls Res. & Ext. Center
315 Falls Ave., Evergreen Bldg.
Twin Falls, ID, 83301
Phone: 208-736-3630
Fax: 208-736-0843
wmeeks@uidaho.edu

Wilson Peng
Washington State University
Irrigated Agriculture Research and Extension
24106 N. Bunn Road
Prosser, WA, 99350-9687
Phone: 509-786-9365
Fax: 509-786-9370
Cell: 626-756-0690
wpeng@tricity.wsu.edu

Chanz Robbins
New Mexico State University
College of Agricultural, Consumer & Environmental Sciences
Extension Plant Sciences
Skeen Hall Room N140, MSC 3AE
Las Cruces, NM 88003
Phone: 575-646-3481
chanz@nmsu.edu

Keri Skiles
University of California
Kearney Agricultural Research and Extension Center
9240 South Riverbend
Parlier, CA, 93648
Phone: 559-646-6061
Fax: 559-646-6015
Cell: 559-310-4092
kmskiles@ucanr.edu

Seth Watkins
University of California, Davis
IR-4 Field Research Center
Plant Sciences 292 Robbins Hall
Davis, CA, 95616
Cell: 530-312-8339
swatkins@ucdavis.edu

USDA-Agricultural Research Service

Sharon D. Benzen
USDA-ARS
Crop Improvement & Protection Research
1636 East Alisal St.
Salinas, CA, 93905
Phone: 831-755-2828
Fax: 831-755-2814
sharon.benzen@usda.gov

Benjamin Fraelich
USDA ARS
2747 Davis Road
Tifton, GA, 31793
Phone: 229-387-2345
Fax: 229-387-2321
benjamin.fraelich@usda.gov

Leona Horst
USDA-ARS
Application Technology Research, Room 132 Selby Hall, OARDC
1680 Madison Avenue
Wooster, OH, 44691-4996
Phone: 970-217-3798
leona.horst@usda.gov

Duane Larson
USDA-ARS
Temperate Tree Fruit and Vegetable Research
5230 Konnawac Pass Road
Wapato, WA, 98951
Phone: 509-454-6553
duane.larson@usda.gov 

Paul Wade
USDA-ARS
U.S. Vegetable Laboratory
2700 Savannah Highway
Charleston, SC, 29414
Phone: 843-402-5376
Fax: 843-573-4715
paul.wade@usda.gov