IR-4 Award Criteria

Hall of Fame


This is the highest award made by IR-4. Only very significant contributions to the development and success of IR-4 over time should be recognized with this award.

  1. Anyone from any aspect of the program is eligible for the award. Nominations may be made at any time.  Nominations may be made for personnel from the private sector as well as the University system and the Federal government such as EPA and USDA. Nominee can no longer be actively involved with the IR-4 program.
  2. The nominees should have made outstanding contributions that have a direct relation to the success of the IR-4 program over a long period of time. This should not be considered as an award for longevity or for a single contribution.
  3. The outstanding contributions should be of a nature that they have resulted in one or more of the following:
      • Increased program effectiveness
      • Better management
      • Increased productivity
      • Establishment of liaisons or partnerships with cooperators that enhanced the program.
      • Enhanced levels of recognition of IR-4 by stakeholders and/or the public.

Hall of Fame Nomination Form

Revised: 10/2007


Charles Compton
Edward Swift

Harold Alford
Thomas Archer
John Mahlsted
Howard Wilkowske

John Bourke
Duane Coyier

Robert Menges
TJ (Jack) Sheets

Ken Dorschner

Willis Wheeler

Gene Carpenter

Richard Guest

Robert Libby

Patricia Sarica
Taka Shibamoto

Ray Frank
Hoyt Jamerson
George Markle
Neal Thompson

Bob Holm

Chuck Mourer

Marion Miller

Rocky Lundy
Lois Rossi

Mary Duryea
Robert Hollingworth
Diane Infante

Paul Schwartz

National Recognition of Excellence


It is intended that these should be very prestigious awards. They will only be presented at 3 year intervals at an appropriate national meeting of the IR-4 program.

Prior to this national meeting, the PMC will establish an ad hoc nominating committee to solicit nominations for the award and develop formal nomination documents for consideration by the PMC.

Nominees can be anyone associated with the program except that active members of the PMC are not eligible to receive the award. The number of nominees is not restricted, but a maximum of 3 persons will receive the award.

The nomination must show evidence of outstanding achievements well beyond normal job performance where the achievements have resulted in a major positive impact on the IR-4 program.

The award will take the form of an engraved plaque, special recognition at an award reception, and a sum of $1,000 from funding provided by IR-4 Headquarters. In addition, the nominating region or regions (including IR-4 Headquarters and ARS as regions in this regard) will provide funding for the awardee to attend the meeting.

Once a person has been given this award, they are no longer eligible to receive it again.



  1. Nancy Ragsdale
  2. Marylee Ross
  3. Robin Federline
  4. Becky Sisco
  5. Roger Batts
  6. Sharon Benzen
  7. Joe Defrancesco
  8. Kathryn Homa

Regional Awards


  1. The number, nature and criteria for these awards and the choice of awardees is at the discretion of each Region (including the ARS program and IR-4 Headquarters as Regions for the purpose of these awards).
  2. IR-4 HQ will provide at least $250 per Region annually to support these awards which may be used at the discretion of each Region.
  3. Award nominees can be anyone the Region chooses and the number of nominees is not restricted. The award is not restricted to personnel within the region/HQ.
  4. Personnel can be re-nominated but once they have received the award, they are not eligible to be nominated again for 3 years.
  5. If desired by a Region, their nominations will also be ratified by the PMC. In this case the PMC’s vote is deciding if the nomination is not ratified.


Meritorious Service Awards


Guidelines for Meritorious Service Awardees

  1. Length of Service to IR-4
  2. Special service to IR-4
  3. Innovation in program development and implementation
  4. Scientific merit encompassing IR-4 contributions

Technical Service Awards


For outstanding technical service to IR-4 programs over several years. Award should be made and evidence provided in the nomination of a sustained level of contributions to IR-4 that is clearly above what is considered normal and expected in the nominee’s position. Any type of technical contribution may be the basis of eligibility for the award.

IR-4 SOAR Awards


The IR-4 Project has established the SOAR award to recognize those individuals who excel in serving growers of Specialty and Minor Use Crops. The awardees will have demonstrated clear Service toward enhancing the mission of IR-4 through participation on committees, advisory panels, or similar activities; excellent Outreach to growers educating growers on IR-4; Altruism by donating time and effort towards IR-4’s mission; outstanding Research which contributes to expanded product labels and increased understanding of product use. In other words, awardees SOAR in supporting IR-4 and our mission to provide growers registrations of new and expanded pest management tools.

The SOAR award will be given to a limited number of individuals annually, but no award will be given if there are no eligible nominees during a particular year. Awardees can be anyone associated with the IR-4 Project except active PMC members and active full-time IR-4 personnel.

The selected awardee(s) will demonstrate excellence in 3 of the 4 elements:
Such as   Participation in standing committees and ad hoc committees
Participation in advisory panels
Participation in similar activities which enhance the direction and mission of IR-4

Such as   Consistent vocal supporter of IR-4 with growers and/or lawmakers
Routinely includes recognition of IR-4 in print and visual media elevating IR-4’s profile in the grower community

Such as   Donation of time, extra research, plant materials, etc

Such as   Participation in IR-4 Program for a minimum of 3 years
Consistently produces stellar and timely research
Research results contributed to new or enhanced product labels

The process to select awardee(s) will begin with a nomination made by peers or IR-4 personnel. Nominations must be made on the SOAR Award Nomination Form and be accompanied by a minimum of 2 letters of support from individuals other than the nominator. The SOAR award will be provided at a suitable venue.

SOAR Award Nomination Form