The IR-4 Commodity Liaison Committee

About the IR-4 Commodity Liaison Committee

The IR-4 Commodity Liaison Committee (CLC) is an important stakeholder group providing guidance and advice on ways in which The IR-4 Project can best serve the needs of specialty crop growers. Members are representatives of various commodity groups in the specialty crop industry. They also advocate for IR-4 to elected officials and decision makers.

The committee meets virtually every two months. They also meet annually in March at the joint PMC and CLC meeting, and in the fall at the Food Use Workshop.

Three women and nine men dressed in suits pose for a photo while standing on stairs inside a building
A few members of the CLC gathered in Washington DC in March 2018. From the top, Laura Phelps, (l- r) Keith Pitts, Terry Humfeld, Lori Berger,Berry Tanner, Bob Simerly, Ron Williams, Armando Monterroso, Todd Scholz, Jill Calabro, Mike Aerts and Mike Bledsoe, chair of the CLC.

Commodity Liaison Committee Members

Michael Aerts 
Florida Fruit and Vegetable Association
800 Trafalgar Court
Suite 200
Maitland, FL, 32751
Phone: 321-214-5200
Fax: 321-214-0210
Cell: 407-257-4694
mike.aerts@ffva.com
Mark Arney 
Nat’l Watermelon Promotion Board
1321 Sundial Point
Winter Springs, FL, 32708
Phone: 407-917-8698
Fax: 407-917-8698
marney@watermelon.org
Michael Bledsoe 
Village Farms, L.P.
90 Colonial Center Parkway
Suite 100
Lake Mary, FL, 32746
Fax: 732-440-1303
Cell: 407-493-3933
mebledsoe@villagefarms.com
Jennifer Clarke
California Leafy Greens Research Program
512 Pajaro Street
Salinas, CA, 93901
Phone: 831-424-3782
jennifer@calgreens.org
James R. Cranney 
California Citrus Quality Council
853 Lincoln Way, Suite 206
Auburn, CA, 95603
Phone: 530-885-1894
Fax: 530-885-1546
jcranney@calcitrusquality.org
Allison Crittenden
American Farm Bureau Federation
600 Maryland Avenue
Suite 1000W
Washington, DC, 20024
Phone: 202-406-3634
allisonc@fb.org
Alan DeYoung 
Van Drunen Farms
2692 N. State Rt. 1-17
Momence, IL, 60954
Phone: 815-592-2958
Fax: 815-472-3544
adeyoung@vandrunen.com
Bill Frantz
The Cranberry Institute
265 D South Meadow Road
Plymouth, MA, 02360
PHone: 508-866-1118
Fax: 774-843-5641
bfrantz@cranberryinstitute.org
Amy Gandhi
Kemin Industries
2100 Maury Street
Des Moines, IA, 50317
Phone: 515-829-9854
Fax: 515-829-9843
amy.gandhi@kemin.com
Ann E. George 
Hop Growers of America
U.S. Hop Industry Plant Protect Comm.
P.O. Box 2885
Yakima, WA, 98907
Phone: 509-453-4749
Fax: 509-457-8561
Cell: 509-930-2334
ageorge@wahops.org
Jennifer Gray
Horticulture Research Institute
2130 Stella Court
Columbus, OH, 43215
Phone: 614-884-1155
jenniferg@americanhort.org
Bob Jones
The Chef’s Garden
Phone: 419-433-4947
bobj@chefs-garden.com
Bob Kaldunski
Ginseng Board of Wisconsin
668 Maratech Ave.
Suite E
Marathon, WI 54448
715-443-2444
715-443-3542
kalbob74@gmail.com
Armando Monterroso 
Brooks Tropicals, LLC
18400 SW 256 Street
Homestead, FL, 33090-0160
Phone: 305-247-3544
Cell: 786-255-0735
armando@brookstropicals.com
Dennis Nuxoll 
Western Growers
1776 Eye Street NW, Suite 255
Washington, DC, 20006
Phone: 202-296-0191
Fax: 202-296-0206
dnuxoll@wga.com
Keith Pitts 
Marrone Bio Innovations
1540 Drew Avenue
Davis, CA, 95618
Phone: 530-750-2800 x 212
Cell: 240-463-4357
kpitts@marronebio.com
Kam Quarles
National Potato Council
1300 L Street, NW #910
Washington, DC, 20005
Phone: 202-741-9178
kamq@nationalpotatocouncil.org
Rachel Roberts
American Mushroom Institute
1284 Gap Newport Pike
Suite 2
Avondale, PA, 19311
Phone: 610-268-7483
rroberts@americanmushroom.org
Steven Salisbury 
Mint Industry Research Council
P.O. Box 4059
Salem, OR, 97302-1059
Phone: 503-551-3747
steve@pacificagresources.com
Todd Scholz 
USA Dry Pea & Lentil Council
2780 W. Pullman Road
Moscow, ID, 83843-4024
Phone: 208-882-3023
Cell: 208-596-5025
tscholz@usapulses.org
Alan Schreiber 
Agriculture Development Group, Inc.
2621 Ringold Road
Eltopia, WA, 99330
Phone: 509-266-4348
aschreib@centurytel.net
Bob Simerly 
National Onion Association
848 Klamath Avenue
Nyssa, OR, 97913
Phone: 208-452-6311
Cell: 208-761-2261
bob.simerly@mccain.com
Berry Tanner 
National Watermelon Association Rep (Alternative)
1130 Old Orangeburg Rd
Fairfax, SC, 29827
Phone: 912-424-9630
berry@coosawfarms.com
berrytanner68@yahoo.com
Dave Trinka 
MBG Marketing
P.O. Box 322
Grand Junction, MI, 49056
Phone: 269-434-6791
Fax: 269-434-6997
dave@blueberries.com
Amy Upton
Michigan Nursery & Landscape Association
2149 Commons Parkway, Okemos MI 48864
Telephone (517) 381-0437
Cell phone (517) 331-8896
amy@mnla.org
Herman Waguespack Jr.
American Sugar Cane League
Thibodaux, LA 70301
(985) 448-3707
cell: (985) 637-6585
hlwag@amscl.org
Lee VanWychen
Weed Science Society of America
5720 Glenmullen Pl,
Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone: 202-746-4686
Lee.VanWychen@wssa.net